Pro Wrestling Only

Hogan's crowd connection v. Bruno's crowd connection

MoS

This was discussed in the Bruno thread over at GWE, but I thought this was interesting enough to warrant a thread of its own.

Meltzer, writing about Steve Austin's failed heel turn in 2001, said that Austin was more like Bruno, and there was a reason Bruno never turned heel.

My question is, what exactly is the difference between the two and their connection with the crowd? Parv talked about Bruno being more earthy, but, I am not sure that is true. Hogan was presented as a larger-than-life superstar. Bruno was presented as a larger-than-life superstar, although not as cartoonish. So, how did Bruno get more earthy? Was it because of his understated promos?

I confess I am not an expert on either 80s wrestling, or wrestling during Bruno's era, so I am hoping people come up and talk about it.

Also, on a scale of 1 to 100, how much would you give the two in terms of connection with the audience?

My question is, what exactly is the difference between the two and their connection with the crowd? Parv talked about Bruno being more earthy, but, I am not sure that is true. Hogan was presented as a larger-than-life superstar. Bruno was presented as a larger-than-life superstar, although not as cartoonish. So, how did Bruno get more earthy? Was it because of his understated promos?

I've uploaded this promo from Bruno. You tell me.

Let me know what you think.

Hulk Hogan was a jingoistic flag waving asshole who talked about God, acted like a dick toward his friends, used dirty underhanded tactics while pretending "fighting for what is right", which infact was only his own best interests, and was a total whining bitch when he didn't get his way. So yeah, no wonder he connected wonderfully during the Reagan era. Basically.