Pro Wrestling Only

Is Atlantis the most underrated historical figure in wrestling?

Sean Liska

I'm not a lucha expert but I enjoy watching CMLL. And I was just watching and thinking about how you never really hear anyone talk about Atlantis as one of the true legends of the business. I know he's in the WON HOF and is very well-regarded, but to me he still doesn't seem to be talked about with enough reverence. Help educate me here if I'm wrong anywhere here. He's been a consistent main event guy for a major promotion for 35 years, headlining who knows how many shows that drew well. He was a spectacular flyer in his youth, I think would be considered a great wrestler at his peak, and to me is still enjoyable in his 50's. And to cap it, I know for sure he headlined the biggest money show in lucha history vs Ultimo Guerrero, and I think he might have the top 3 gates in lucha history to his credit, with the year they faked the Ultimo match and the match vs Sombra.

To me he's like the Undertaker of lucha except a more consistent better wrestler and a better draw at his peak. Am I overrating him?

I agree with you. The comparison with Undertaker is perfect, althought I don't know if he was a better draw at his peak. Like Undertaker, he stayed in CMLL for his entire career.

He is probably underrated because he was never the top wrestler in CMLL, there was always somebody above him like Konnan, Mistico, Perro Aguayo Jr., Ultimo Guerrero...

I think that if you are limiting the discussion to wrestlers for whom a ton of footage is available, then Atlaantis is a damned good choice for "most underrated/least discussed"